Information for applicants

Information about the Diocese

Chester Diocesan Board of Education is the education authority for the Church of England Diocese of Chester.
The Diocese covers an area of 1017 square miles, approximately the old Victorian County of Chester, and includes all of Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester and Wirral Local Authorities and parts of Derbyshire, Halton, Tameside, Trafford, Stockport, Warrington and Wrexham.  The Diocese is the third largest in the Province of York, and the ninth largest in England.

In this Diocese 46 schools are Voluntary Controlled, 59 are Voluntary Aided (three of which are joint Catholic/C of E schools), 10 are Academies and there is one Free School.  The schools are supported by a small team, including the Diocesan Director of Education, Canon Jeff Turnbull, based at Church House, Daresbury Park, near Warrington.  The Chair of the Diocesan Board of Education is Bishop Libby Lane, the Bishop of Stockport.

Page last updated: Sunday 19th March 2017 2:35 PM
Powered by Church Edit