Diocesan Synod

For Diocesan Synod enquiries please contact:

Diocesan Secretary George Colville on 01928 718834 ext 247 or his PA Joanne Ridley on 01928 718834 ext 252

Diocesan Secretary- George Colville
I was born and grew up in Liverpool and studied at Liverpool Bluecoat School before reading Mathematics at Brasenose College Oxford. After graduating I trained and qualified as a Chartered Accountant in Liverpool. I then worked for the Charity Commission as a Senior Accountant where my main role was providing accounting support, advice and training to the Charity Commission staff and Charity trustees. I met my wife Andrea at Oxford. She worked as a Computer Analyst before taking on the job of looking after our two children. We worship at St Ann's Church Warrington, where I play the keyboard and am currently Churchwarden after previously having been treasurer for many years. Andrea runs the Guides. My interests include visiting historic monuments particularly castles, music and swimming. I am keen to hear from everyone involved in the Church's mission, and to ensure that the very best support is available to parishes, clergy and to others who follow Christ's call in our diocese.


Annual Parochial Church Meetings 2020

Information has been sent to all parishes regarding their APCMs, including Electoral Roll certificates, database update forms and Deanery Synod Election results forms.  Notable changes to APCM procedures following the publication of the 2020 Church Representation Rules have been noted. A copy of the letter is here.


Deanery Synod Elections in 2020

Deanery Synod Elections are held this year.  The November 2019 meeting of Diocesan Synod agreed the formula to determine the number of elected lay members for each parish.  These figures have been communicated to all PCC Secretaries, and are to be found here.


Diocesan Synod Meetings in 2020

The dates set for the meetings of Diocesan Synod in 2019 are Saturday 21 March, Saturday 13 June (reserve date) and Saturday 14 November. 


Diocesan Synod Meetings in 2019

The dates set for the meetings of Diocesan Synod in 2019 are Saturday 16 March, Saturday 8 June (reserve date) and Saturday 9 November.  The March meeting, which will commence at 9.15am, will be held at Chester Cathedral.


Diocesan Synod November 2019

Buildings for God's Kingdom report


Diocesan Synod March 2019 Committee and Department reports

Committee for Ministry report

Committee for Social Responsibility report

Education report

Foxhill report

Mission report

Cathedral report


Diocesan Synod sub-committee election results 2018

Following the nomination and election processes, the Diocesan Synod sub-committees and appointments for the new term are:

Chair of the House of Laity
Canon Dr John Mason
Chair of the House of Clergy
Revd Dr Rob Munro
Bishop’s Council (Chester Laity)
Graham Campbell
Alan Dowen
John Freeman
Elizabeth Renshaw
John Scrivener
Bishop’s Council (Chester Clergy)
Mike Smith
Tina Upton
David Felix
Andy Greenhough
Simon Drew
Bishop’s Council (Macclesfield Laity)
Fiona Goode
Esme Hammer
Graham Lowcock
Ian Roberts
Julie Withers
Bishop’s Council (Macclesfield Clergy)
David Brewster
Elaine Chegwin Hall
Mark Hart
Christopher Hobbs
David Page
Committee for Social Responsibility (Clergy)
Shaun Conlon
Margaret Jones
James Terry
Tina Upton
Committee for Social Responsibility (Laity)
Kath Cliffe
John Freeman
Vivien Ley
Christine Wetherell
Committee for Ministry (Clergy)
George Crowder
Christopher Hobbs
Beverley Jameson
Christopher Murphy
Committee for Ministry (Laity)
David Blackmore
Alan McGraa
Julie Withers
Lesley Young
Board of Patronage (Laity)
Graham Campbell
Rosalind Campbell
Board of Patronage (Clergy)
Andrew Greenhough
Mike Smith
Parish Share Appeals (Macclesfield)
Rob McLaren
Parish Share Appeals (Chester)
Matt Graham
Vacancy in See Laity
Ian Roberts
Ian Halliday
Gillian Edwards
Adam Brown
Vacancy in See Clergy
Elaine Chegwin Hall
Peter Froggatt


Diocesan Synod on Saturday 17th March 2018

Synod met at Chester University at 9.15am on 17th November.


Committee for Ministry

Committee for Social Responsibility





Setting God's People Free


Diocesan Synod on Saturday 11th November 2017

Synod met at Upton Priory at 9.15am on 11th November.

General Synod Report

Bishop Peter's Presidential Address


Diocesan Synod on Saturday 11th March 2017

Synod met at The Fuse, Partington at 9.15am on 11th March. 

Committee Reports:


Social Responsibility




Presentation on the 'Setting God's People Free' report


Standing Orders and Governing Documents

The Standing Orders of Chester Diocesan Board of Finance

Memorandum and Articles of Association for Chester Diocesan Board of Finance

Legal information for Chester Diocesan Board of Education

Bishop Peter's discussion paper from 2018


Page last updated: 22nd October 2020 9:57 AM