Church House has closed until further notice. 

Staff are generally working from home where possible. Those who have a need to work at Church House are denoted below with 'Working from Church House'.

Diocesan Secretary: George Colville - Working from Church House
T:  01928 718834 EXT 247       07590 962 586

PA to Diocesan Secretary: Joanne Ridley


Bishops and Archdeacons

Bishop of Chester: Mark Tanner
T: 01244 350864

Bishop of Birkenhead: Keith Sinclair
T: 0151 652 2741

Archdeacon of Chester: Mike Gilbertson

Archdeacon of Macclesfield: Ian Bishop

Church Maintenance

DAC Secretary: Caroline Hilton
07546 304341

DAC Assistant: Katy Purvis

Clergy Housing

Property Manager and Closed Church Officer: Alan Kempster-Down
07540 725 112

Property Officer: Jane Hague


Director of Communications: James Butterworth
07889 217 594

Design and Communications Officer: Stephen Freeman
07546 303673


Director of Education: Chris Penn
07540 722667

Deputy Director of Education: Sue Noakes

School Effectiveness Officer: Mark Whitehill
07540 722669

Christian Character and CPD: Jen Mcilveen

Administrator in Education: Charlotte Somers

Schools Administrative Assistant: Sandra Reynolds

Schools Building and Finance Officer Assistant: Simon Geddes

Schools Assets Administrator: Sandra Jones


Head of Finance: Nigel Strange - Working from Church House
T: 01928 718834 Ext 241

Assistant Accountant: Sharon Taylor-Booth - Working from Church House
T: 01928 718834 Ext 262

Finance and HR Officer: Maxine Southwick

Finance Officer: Gill Ellis - Working from Church House
T: 01928 718834 Ext 242

Administration Assistant and Receptionist: Emma Hathaway - Working from Church House
T: 01928 718834 Ext 246


Director of HR: Liz Geddes
07918 732 808

Administrator for the Diocesan Director of HR: Mims Harrison - Working from Church House
T: 01928 718834 Ext 266

Finance and HR Officer: Maxine Southwick


Director of Ministry: Revd Canon Dr Christopher Burkett
07921 040 153

PA to the Director of Ministry: Jane Hood

Diocesan Director of Vocations and Residentiary Canon: Revd Canon Sarah Fenby
07714 587 250

PA to the DDV and Administrator for CfM: Peter Bacon

Continuing Ministry Development Officer: Revd Canon David Herbert
07889 217589

Director of Studies for Readers: Revd Liz Shercliff
07889 217 922

Director of Studies for Pastoral Workers: Revd Jenny Bridgman
07546 304644 

Dean of Women in Ministry: Revd Christine Broad
T: 0151 678 4825

Warden of Pastoral Workers and Warden of Readers: Revd Canon Vivien Gisby

Young Vocations Advisers:

Revd Jessica Piper:
Revd Calum Piper:

Prayer and Christian Spirituality Officer: Revd Graham Green
T: 01928 722151


Director of Outreach: Vacant

Assistant to Social Responsibility: Hannah Jones

Head of Counselling: Revd Peter Mackriell
07918 732806

Engagement and Inclusion Officer: Vanessa Layfield
07517 994 493

Diocesan Christian Giving and Pastoral Reorganisation Missioner: Martin Smith
07889 216 596

Diocesan Worship Advisor: Revd Andy Stinson
T: 01829 740 263

Youth, Children and Families Missioner: Jonathan Masters
07595 069880

Church Buildings Missioner: Emily Allen

Mission Administrator: Rebecca Hathaway


Diocesan Registrar: Lisa Moncur

Registry Clerk: Jo Williams


Diocesan Safeguarding Adviser: Pauline Butterfield
T: 07703 800 031

PA to the Diocesan Safeguarding Advisor: Mims Harrison - Working from Church House
T: 01928 718834 Ext 266

Diocesan Safeguarding Training and Policy Officer: Stephen Ellis

Past Cases Review 2

PCR2 Reviewer (Commissioned by the Church Of England): - Vacant

Page last updated: 15th December 2020 8:21 AM