Praying for the diocese


Bishop Keith Sinclair has begun the New Year with an invitation to all in the Diocese of Chester to join him in prayer.

Bishop Keith invites everyone to pray for the diocese, the Crown Nominations Commission (CNC), and the person God is calling to be the next Bishop of Chester.

Two prayer meetings have been arranged and prayer resources have been produced for use by individuals and parishes.

The first prayer meeting will be held in the week before the CNC meets for the first time. It will be led by Bishop Keith on Wednesday 29 January at Foxhill from 2pm.

The second prayer meeting will due to be held in the week before the CNC meets for the final time. It will be led by Archdeacon Ian Bishop on Thursday 12 March at St Michaels and All Angels Church, Macclesfield from 2pm. 

A special prayer has been written and prayer resources are available for parishes to download or print for use in church services, in prayer groups, or individually at home. 

Bishop Keith says: “For the first time in nearly a quarter of a century, the Church of England is in the process of appointing someone to be the next Bishop of Chester.

“This is an important time of change and transition, and prayer is an appropriate response to the uncertainty we face, not only in our diocese but across the nation and the world at large.

“Let’s pray in faith as we wait for the person God is calling to be the next Bishop of Chester.

“May God bless us all at this time.”

The video above has been produced to promote this season of prayer for the diocese.

In it, people from different walks of life, and located around the Diocese of Chester, speak the words of the specially written prayer.

Thank you to the following people: Nick Sherratt, Holy Trinity Blacon; Nicola Boot, Cuddington; Isaac Stinson, Great Barrow; Mrs Ann Barlow, Lower Peover; Tony Lewis, Langley; Revd Andrew Knight, Partington and Carrington; Revd Alison Boulton, Middlewich; Terry Cunningham, Christ Church Higher Bebington; Matt Baker, St Oswald and St Thomas of Canterbury, Chester; Mrs Lynne Marsh, Nantwich; Mrs Jade Baggaley, Sir Thomas Boteler Church of England High School; Liz Neely, Tarporley; Victoria Perez, Middlewich. 


Page last updated: 22nd January 2020 3:00 PM