Privacy and Cookies

The Christian Year

The Christian Year - Information

The Christian year is divided into seven seasons and begins on the First Sunday of Advent, four weeks before Christmas. The seasons are:

Season Principal Feasts and other Principal Holy Days
Christmas Christmas Day (25 December)
Epiphany Epiphany (6 January); The Presentation of Christ in the Temple or Candlemas (2 February)
Ordinary Time  
Lent Ash Wednesday; Maundy Thursday; Good Friday
Easter Easter Day; Ascension Day; Pentecost or Whit Sunday
Ordinary Time Trinity Sunday; All Saints’ Day (1 November)


Where dates are fixed they are shown, otherwise they are dependent on the date of Easter.

For details of all Holy Days in the Church of England calendar, click here.

We have produced a book,Season to Season, to assist teachers in primary schools in teaching about the church's year. The festivals covered are: Harvest, Advent, All Saints' Day, Christmas, Lent, Palm Sunday, Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Easter, Ascension, Pentecost and Trinity.
The book costs £9.95 but is available to schools which are subscribers to Chester Diocesan Family of Schools for £5.00. To download an order form click here.

Share Page...


Individual Schools – Details about individual schools including inspection reports can be found here. A Google map showing the position of Church of England schools in the Diocese is here.

Looking for a post in a Church of England school?

Church school vacancies
To advertise a post in your school, please fill in our Job Vacancy Form