Deaconing 2012


Sixteen ordinands were ordained deacon at Chester Cathedral on Sunday (1 July 2012). The new deacons are listed below alongside the parishes where they will serve as curates ...

The Revd Professor Ruth Ackroyd preached on Jesus washing the disciples’ feet (John 13), and she also led the ordinands’retreat at Foxhill, which took the theme ‘come to Jesus’. Ruth is a Curate at All Saints, Hoole, and is involved in Christian formation and ministry in our diocese and nationally. 

Ruth is pictured (top row, centre) with the Archdeacons of Chester and Macclesfield, the Bishops of Chester, Stockport and Birkenhead, Diocesan Registrar Helen McFall, our Director of Ordinands Ray Samuels, and all 16 deacons – listed below with their parishes in brackets. Picture by Simon Warburton.   

David Black (Tattenhall, Burwardsley and Handley)
Helen Browne (Runcorn St Michael)
Lore Chumbley (Stockton Heath)
Trish Cope (Knutsford St Cross)
Lynne Cullens (Congleton Team Parish)
Lesley Cummins (Poynton)
Antony Dutton (Malpas, Threapwood and Bickerton)

Glyn Jones (Chester Christ Church)
Mike Loach (West Kirby St Bridget)
Chris Moore (Stretton and Appleton Thorn)
Myles Owen (Bowdon)
Norma Robinson (Hyde St George)
Andy Stinson (Oxton)
Gerri Tetzlaff (Macclesfield Team) *
Jules Walker (Audlem, Wybunbury and Doddington)
Georgina Watmore (Hale)

* Gerri Tetzlaff worked for several years at Church House, Aldford, as an administrator in the Department of Mission and Ministry.